Rotes Rauschen
spacial.seismometer.and.sculptural.sense.organ

kinetic.reactiv.installation
2012
in cooperation with Thom Laepple

images >>

text (dt) >>

video >>
Rotes Rauschen is an installation and sculptural sense organ. It is also a seismic instrument connected to its surroundings by embodying the ambient noise and microseism, which we are not able to perceive with our own sense organs.

The horizontal basis of the seismometer is the entire floor space, the walls are the vertical axis holding a freely oscillating pendulum. The kinetic sculpture which is mounted with a counter balance, swings in the center of the space.

Three equally long nitinol wires are connected around the balance point of the sculpture. They contract and extend analogous to the deflection of the seismic pendulum. By this means, the sculpture equilibrates the movements of the ground, while the thin sculptural body curls and stretches -- controlled by the intensity of the seismic activity. Sounds are created by all movements, and amplified by the sculpture´s material and resonance space.

Like an ear, the sculpture listens carefully (in)to the space and renders the omnipresent slow frequencies of ground motion into the range of human physical perception. Everyone entering the space changes the weight distribution and the relational structure inside the room. However the observer is just one part in the multilayered structure of always present disquietude.

Recording the faint earth tremor caused by natural phenomena such as ocean waves, noise of the surrounding city and the movements of the observers weights, the sculpture embeds the site specific perception into an overall context.
*Rotes Rauschen, red noise, such as seismic noise and infra sounds, is a property of physical phenomena where low (slow) frequencies are stronger than in equally distributed white noise.

development of hardware and development and realisation of the software to analyse the data and controll the sculpture: Thom Laepple

dimension of scultpture: ~270 x 70 x 50 cm;
material: expanded polypropylene (EPP), nitinol wire, carbon, pigments;
balance weight and seismometer out of aluminum, copper, brass, steal and divers material
control and power-units.

produced with the scholarship for woman media artists by the Ministry for Families, Children, Youth, Culture and Sports of North Rhine-Westphalia,
supervised and supported by HMKV Hartware MedienKunstverein Dortmund
Thank you: Inke Arns, Andrea Eichardt, Uwe Gorski, Frauke Hoffschulte, Mirjam Laker, Fabian Saavedra-Lara und Robin!
with kind support from Stefan Niermann igus GmbHDYNALLOY and Dynalloy, Inc.DYNALLOY
production support Rotes Rauschen at "States of Being":
Edith-Russ-Haus for Media Art

Rotes Rauschen
spacial.seismometer.and.sculptural.sense.organ

kinetic.reactiv.installation
2012
in cooperation with Thom Laepple

images >>

video >>

text (en) >>
Rotes Rauschen* verbindet ein bewegliches, skulpturales Objekt mit einem Seismometer. Die Installation vermisst und übersetzt gleichermaßen feine Bodenerschütterungen, die den Erdboden als mikroseismische Aktivitäten kontinuierlich durchziehen und ihn in einen steten Unruhezustand versetzen. Ebenso reagiert die Skulptur auf Bodenbewegungen, welche durch die Betrachter_innen verursacht werden, die bei ihrem Eintreten die Gewichtsverteilung im Raum verschieben.

An die Senkrechte einer Wand im Ausstellungsraum ist das umgelenkte Pendel eines Seismometers angebracht, dessen horizontale Basis die Bodenfläche ist. Im Zentrum schwingt, balanciert und pendelt die kinetische Skulptur, die als Waage über Umlenkrollen mit einem ihr entsprechenden Gegengewicht aufgehängt ist.

Das skulpturale Objekt bildet einen gekrümmten Körper, der, obwohl technoid, wie ein getrocknetes Blatt oder abgeschälte Baumrinde, an etwas unbestimmbar Natürliches denken lässt. Es wird durch drei um den Schwerpunkt angebrachte, gleichlange Nitinoldrähte bewegt. Diese verkürzen und dehnen sich analog zu den empfangenen Signalen aus bzw. ziehen sich wieder zusammen. Die dünne EPP-Schalung biegt sich durch die Kontraktion der Drähte, rollt sich zusammen oder streckt sich nach außen, wobei sie Töne erzeugen, die durch den Resonanzraum der Skulptur verstärkt werden.

Auf diese Weise übersetzt Rotes Rauschen die gemessenen Bodenschwingungen in Bewegung und Geräusche, die sie für uns erst erfahrbar machen. Ähnlich einem Ohr horcht die Skulptur in den Raum hinein, erkundet und reflektiert seine Verfasstheit. Dabei verbindet sie lokale und globale Impulse miteinander, wodurch Raum und Ortsspezifik aus einer örtlich beschränkten Vorstellung gelöst und in einen übergeordneten Kontext eingebettet werden.
*rotes Rauschen, z.B. mikroseismische Schwingungen oder Infrasounds, ist eine Eigenschaft natürlicher Phänomene, in denen niedrige, langsame, Frequenzen stärker ausgeprägt sind als im gleichmäßig verteilten weißen Rauschen.

Entwicklung der Hardware, sowie Entwurf und Realisierung der Software zur Datenanalyse und Steuerung der Skulptur: Thom Laepple

Dimension und Material
Skulptur ~270 x 70 x 50 cm; Expandiertes Polypropylen, Nitinoldraht1, Silikon, Karbon, Pigment, Waage und Seismometer: Aluminium, Kupfer, Messing, Stahl, diverse Materialien, Steuer- und Leistungseinheit

produziert mit dem Stipendium für Medienkünstlerinnen des Ministeriums für Familie, Kinder, Kultur und Sport des Landes NRW,
betreut und unterstützt vomHMKV Hartware MedienKunstverein Dortmund, besonderer Dank: Inke Arns, Andrea Eichardt, Uwe Gorski, Frauke Hoffschulte, Mirjam Laker, Fabian Saavedra-Lara und Robin!
sowie mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Stefan Niermann igus GmbHDYNALLOY und Dynalloy, Inc.DYNALLOY

Unterstützung der Produktion Rotes Rauschen in "States of Being":
Edith-Russ-Haus für Medienkunst